Orkin

Pest Control Plan Details and Reviews for Orkin
Inspection Charge: Free
Service Charge: $595
Basic Termite Plan: $25
One time treatment: $275
Web: orkin.com

Overall Rating: Not Available Why?

Total Reviews: 8

Reviews

  • Stevehaas | 08/30/12, 5:00 am |  Rate this review: Add rating  Subtract rating  

    We made an initial appointment with Orkin to take care of spiders and other insects plaguing the inside and outside of our home. I purposely stayed home from work so as to be able to show them the problems and answer any questions that they may have. The technician never showed or called within the timeframe we were given. We will never recommend them to anyone for the fact that they are unreliable, too expensive, expect everyone to get into an annual contract with them and much more. It’s better to find a local resource that knows how to treat their customers

  • PRLV | 08/30/12, 5:05 am |  Rate this review: Add rating  Subtract rating   Overall Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating

    Orkin conned me into letting them install a moisture barrier in my crawl space. They said it would take a half day. When I came home, very little had been installed, they had knocked down the ducts to furnace vents and then I found out they had worked 1 hour–disappeared for 5 hours–returned to say they could not finish. I called Orkin and they agreed something was amiss. The next day they sent another guy who finished the job in a half day and then left. No bill was left and no bill was sent. I honestly forgot all about it until 2 months later the Orkin inspector started stalking me and leaving messages to call him. But he never said what he wanted. When I finally connected with him, he said he wanted to collect the $480. I told him I needed a bill and he said he would have one sent?. Two more months went by and then he started leaving nasty messages”. When we finally connected he accused me of ignoring the bills sent (which were never sent)?. I said I never received any so I called their office and after a 30 min run-around, they agreed to send me a bill/. Nothing ever showed up:. So today I was greeted with a letter from a collection agency|. I called Orkin and they gave me the run-around and accused me of being a deadbeat|. I called the collection agency and sent them a check after they agreed that Orkin of Raleigh would no longer bother me’. After reading several reviews here, I am very concerned that Orkin’s “inspection” may be bogus and I may have termite problems! My advice is FIND SOME OTHER TERMITE INSPECTION COMPANY — ORKIN OF RALEIGH IS A SCAM!!!!!!

  • Neighborkarol | 09/03/12, 10:10 am |  Rate this review: Add rating  Subtract rating   Overall Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating

    I referred two clients to Orkin Pest Control in Bedford IN, relaying to them the information on the Orkin website that Orkin does “free inspections.” Both clients called back to report that they spoke to Gene Hilger and were treated in an extremely rude manner. He refused to provide inspections and after talking to the second client, actually called my office to complain about my referring customers to him. What kind of businessman behaves this way? Even if he had been unable to help my clients, he could have handled the situation in a polite, businesslike, nonconfrontational manner. I am really surprised that someone would conduct business in this way. I will NEVER refer another client to Orkin and will make sure to spread the warning that Mr. Hilger should not be considered a reputable businessman.

  • JP2012 | 09/18/12, 4:55 am |  Rate this review: Add rating  Subtract rating   Overall Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating

    Been told that Orkin, the pest control company, was coming to fumigate our entire building (where i’m a tenant) and since we are in Florida, i called them a few days ago to ask them if they would still go ahead if the latest tropical storm would affect us (Tropical Storm / Hurricane ISAAC). The foreman (Mel, from Orkin in Hollywood, Florida) said that unless the conditions were not going to be ‘favorable’, they would go ahead and do the tenting. Long story short, here is the outcome of it:

    -On the Friday night (and the entire weekend) there was strong winds : Half of the tent didnt hold in place so the fumigation was never contained as it’s supposed to be (I took many pictures as i happened to pass in front of our building twice during the weekend)

    -Whoever went in my appartment (from Orkin) left the windows opened while there was strong winds so lots of my belongings flew across my residence (carpets, paperwork, clothes, objects that are more less light)

    -Whoever came in to ‘inspect’ my place did not care about removing their shoes and there was mud/dirt shoe spots (as it was raining outside) all over

    -Whoever came in my place took the initiave to displace my personal drawers (that were already open) in my bedroom

    -Whoever came into my place took a supplemental decision to open some more windows and ripped off some chinese paper curtains by doing so (the notice we received mentioned that we had to leave 1 window by room opened and that’s exactly how it was done before i left my home. There was no need for more and if so, it should have been specified to us/me)

    -I have an enclosed patio with some chairs…And found one of my chairs sitting in the middle of the yard…Far outside my pation…When there was nobody there for the entire weekend (our condo association president was too cheap to hire security). In other words, one of the workers took the liberty to borrow MY material and didnt even have the decency to at least put it back where it belongs.

    -Since family and friends were all busy for the weekend and i had to be out of it for 3 1/2 days (from Friday 10 am till Monday 5pm), i had to rent a motel room and spend extra money to eat 3 meals a day at restaurants…In other words, over 300$ of my own money, for a job that didnt even work !

    ORKIN has royally screwed up that job and even more frustrating, the condo association where i live is too lazy to take action against them for the damages.

    Even if i would call ORKIN to complain, i dont have enough ‘physical’ proofs to go against them. I feel like any action taken in that direction would be a waste of my time as they would have some type of excuses (verbal or written, it doesnt mather) .

    They should have NEVER done that job, knowing that a storm was coming.

    The foreman that directed that specific job should strongly be reprimanded and we should be compensated for the damages without having to file some long and painful lawsuits.

    All that to say….I’m not a happy camper and would NEVER recommend ORKIN to anyone.

    To finish on a positive note, i would suggest to do the following if you’re building gets ‘tented’ for termites :

    – Ensure that you get some form of security (Even if it’s just cameras)

    – Include a clause in the contract stipulating that the job MUST be postponed if a tropical storm comes

    – Take some pictures ( a lot of them ) of your place (inside and out) before you leave it

    – If they decide to throw some food away because it could be affected, have it given to you ( my neighbors food supposedly was put in the garbage but when she opened the bin, nothing was there…I’m sure that the ORKIN workers had a good snack on her behalf…she’s an awesome cook..!!!)

    – Be aware and vigileant as much as possible

  • Zeeoag | 09/24/12, 7:02 am |  Rate this review: Add rating  Subtract rating   Overall Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating

    the sale guy he lied to me about plans and charged me $110 for 30 days treatment suppose to be 90 days?. thn the guy who comes i think robert he was really *** n mean:.he left within 15 min,.Nothing happened roaches, spiders n ants thy r still there’. i called thm thy put me on hold 4ever:. thn lady she is keep switchng me from one reprsentative to other,n finally thy schedule apointment for next week|.that guy Robert came again spray i think only water, which helps nothing’. i will suggest go to wallmart buy insects spray from there;.No refunds at all.

  • Zeeoag | 10/11/12, 4:52 am |  Rate this review: Add rating  Subtract rating   Overall Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating

    the sale guy he lied to me about plans and charged me $110 for 30 days treatment suppose to be 90 days?. thn the guy who comes i think robert he was really *** n mean/.he left within 15 min?.Nothing happened roaches, spiders n ants thy r still there|. i called thm thy put me on hold 4ever.. thn lady she is keep switchng me from one reprsentative to other,n finally thy schedule apointment for next week,.that guy Robert came again spray i think only water, which helps nothing/. i will suggest go to wallmart buy insects spray from there!.No refunds at all

  • A.B. | 01/10/13, 3:18 am |  Rate this review: Add rating  Subtract rating   Overall Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating

    When I first got this service it was fine. But about 2 months into the service, a tech said that he came out to spray. No one was home and the tech said he did the service anyway. I asked Orkin what did he do and they said that the tech sprayed around the house. Well, I have a 6 ft privacy fence around my back yard with a pitt bull in the yard and pad locks on the gates so he could not have gotten in.
    Orkin wanted to charge me for the call with no prof that anyone had came out and did any service. I refused to pay for a service that I did not get, they in turn sent the bill to collections.

    Wait for it, they wont get it from me.

  • lanstar | 01/18/13, 9:17 am |  Rate this review: Add rating  Subtract rating   Overall Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating

    We unfortunately hired orkin without knowing that killing ants was beyond their scope.For years we paid Orkin for “pest control” and I can only guess that ants are not considered pests because the ants did just fine despite orkins “best” efforts.

    Countless times the exterminator would show up with no notice and leave a message that he had sprayed our house. Amazing considering he had no access to the interior or the back yard being that it is fenced and locked.

    This happened on multiple occasions of which were reported and it continued to happen.Horrible experience, please avoid throwing your money away by hiring Orkin.

  • Ric | 09/23/13, 6:55 pm |  Rate this review: Add rating  Subtract rating   Overall Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating

    I made call to make Appt. I was never contacted after giving all my information to lady. Have read other reviews and they are all very accurate !! Will never call them again as I will spread to my friends and family !!

  • Teresa Diggs | 07/31/14, 1:03 am |  Rate this review: Add rating  Subtract rating  

    I called Orkin today for the very first time ever, and each, and everyone I have talked with was very, very nice! They even sent someone to my house today. They had to work me in, but they did, and the young man that came out was very polite, and knew excalty what he was doing. I was very happy with the awesome service I received today. For the record do not call Morris Pest Control in Camden, SC!!

Rate this company



Overall Rating